I give up with Google... what am I missing?

So I updated one of my top-ranking pages just to remove a couple of dead links and add some fresh ones for readers.

It was sitting at #4 on Google and #1 on Bing before the update.

Now? Still #1 on Bing, but it dropped to #15 on Google.

I’m at a loss. I don’t know what Google wants anymore.

Should I just start sharing this page on forums everywhere? UGC seems to be what Google loves to rank these days.

I’ve been blogging for almost 20 years, and I’m completely clueless now about what Google is looking for.

Yeah, Google is killing small publishers. I think it’s all about squeezing us to spend more on ads.

winsteizsty said:
Yeah, Google is killing small publishers. I think it’s all about squeezing us to spend more on ads.

Exactly, it’s all about making us pay more for ads.

winsteizsty said:

This has been going on since they went public. Once shareholders came into the picture, small publishers got pushed aside.

Honestly, I feel bad for anyone relying on blogging full-time now. It’s such a mess with traffic all over the place. Probably time to pivot to something else.

Curry said:
Honestly, I feel bad for anyone relying on blogging full-time now. It’s such a mess with traffic all over the place. Probably time to pivot to something else.

What do you think the solution is? I feel like I’m going in circles trying to get any momentum.

@J.cole2
Brands need to diversify. You can’t just rely on websites anymore.

@J.cole2
You should look into content pillars.

NooserMooker said:
@J.cole2
You should look into content pillars.

Can you explain more about content pillars?

You might need to check a few things. If you just replaced dead links with new ones, I’m not sure why the ranking dropped.