Why do so few lawyers maintain a blog?

I work in marketing for a SaaS (software as a service) company. Recently, I’ve been helping lawyers who work alone or in small firms with their marketing, even though it wasn’t my original plan. Everyone wants to get more people interested in their services, which makes sense. But most people think the only way to do that is by putting out advertisements. It seems like in the legal world, ads that push hard to sell are common, even though other types of ads have moved past that.

I keep suggesting that lawyers start a blog. I’ve seen it work before, where writing about experiences can bring in more potential clients. Plus, you can use that content for things like newsletters and social media posts. People usually like the idea, but it never happens.

I don’t understand why more lawyers don’t share their knowledge through content. You have a lot of valuable information that your clients would find helpful. Why not use that to attract more people to your services?

Lawyers maintain blogs to achieve several objectives:

1. Improve search engine ranking: By regularly publishing high-quality, keyword-optimized content, law firms can enhance their visibility in search engine results, attracting relevant traffic to their websites.

2. Demonstrate legal expertise: Blogging allows lawyers to showcase their knowledge and experience in specific legal areas, helping to establish credibility and trust among prospective clients and peers.

3. Provide value to prospective clients: Law blogs offer valuable information and insights on various legal topics, addressing common questions and concerns of potential clients, thus positioning the firm as a valuable resource.

4. Serve as an alternative to traditional marketing: Content marketing through blogs enables law firms to engage with their audience in a more meaningful and informative manner, building relationships and trust over time.