Anyone else feeling lost with SEO for photography?

Hi, I’m a wedding/family photographer. I’ve been doing this since 2012 and blogging since 2009. I used to keep up with SEO when I had more time, but as my business grew and life got busier, I stopped focusing on it. I’ve recently moved to a new country, and now I need to start fresh. Even though I have a strong portfolio, no one knows about me here.

Social media isn’t working out for me anymore; no matter how much I post or how often, I keep losing followers. So now, I’m hoping SEO will help. I’m struggling with keywords, though. I have SurferSEO and Ubersuggest, but it feels overwhelming.

SurferSEO gives numbers I don’t really trust, and I’m not sure what keywords will work best for me. I just want to know what people around me are typing when they search for a photographer. Can anyone help me with this?

SEO isn’t a quick fix. I’ve been doing it for years for clients all over, and honestly, unless you have a larger photography business, it’s better to keep it simple.

If I were you, I’d focus on finding engagement tags on apps like Instagram, specifically for your local area. Look for posts from people who don’t seem to have hired a professional photographer yet. It’s tough, but it’ll get you more clients than stressing about SEO.

If you’re set on SEO, though, look into local tools like Google Business Profile and Apple’s version (forgot the name).

@PixelPioneer
Thanks a lot! Just to clarify, what do you mean by ‘larger photography business’? Most of us work alone or in small teams. And yeah, I’m definitely going to focus on Google Business Profile too!

@Franky
By ‘larger business’, I mean that it’s not worth spending too much time on SEO if it’s just you or a small team. Focus more on showing your portfolio and having a contact form. The perfect keywords only matter if there’s zero competition in your area.