Having a Hard Time with Local SEO… Can Someone Help?

Hi everyone! I’m new to web development, and I’m building websites for clients using AstroJS. I use Lighthouse to check SEO, and I get a score of 100 most of the time. But for some reason, I can’t seem to get the local SEO part right when people are searching for services in their area.

If I search for the business name, it’s always the first result. But when it comes to keywords related to services, I’m nowhere to be found.

I’m just trying to show up locally, not nationally or globally. Is this too much to ask for? SEO feels like a huge challenge, and I’m still learning. Any advice would be really appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

You should create a separate page for each service and each service area.

Also, make sure to use service keywords in the URLs of those pages and link them together.

Double-check that every page has a proper title tag with the right keywords.

Use Screaming Frog or a similar tool to find any missing elements.

And don’t forget to update the Google Business Profile with all the services and areas!

@MoffatCousma
Thanks! I already made pages for the services, but I’ll try adding areas next. When you say link all pages together, do you mean like having a list of links to different service/area pages on the main page?

@Mason
Everything they said is right, but don’t forget about authority. SEO is more than just page titles and page speed— you need other sites linking back to you to build credibility.

@Mason
Not exactly. If you’re talking about Service A on an area page, make sure to add a link that points to your Service A page. Do the same when mentioning an area on the service page.

Internal linking within the content helps a lot! You can search for ‘internal linking for SEO’ for more tips.

@Mason
Do your clients have verified Google My Business (GMB) accounts? That’s key for local searches. Then, focus on building the GMB authority.