Where's the best place to learn SEO for free?

Hey everyone, I want to leave academia and start my own online tutoring business while traveling and working remotely. I’m new to marketing, advertising, and search engine optimization (SEO). There are tons of free resources, but which one is the best for a beginner like me? Any tips would be appreciated!

A lot of the big SEO platforms have their own resources to help you get started. You can check out Moz, Ahrefs, SEMrush (their learning center is solid), and even Wix has jumped into SEO now.

Once you get the basics down, Twitter (or X) can be really helpful for keeping up with SEO trends, algorithm changes, and AI stuff. There’s always someone with good insights, and some people specialize in different areas like local SEO or technical SEO. Here are a few names I follow:

• Daniel Foley Carter
  • Greg Gifford (local SEO)
  • Lily Ray
  • Aleyda Solis
  • Glenn Gabe
  • Marie Haynes
  • Barry Schwartz (runs SEO Roundtable)

But who you like can be personal, so explore and see what sticks. Good luck!

@LINDA
Thanks for the info! SEMrush looks good, but I found way too many links. Could you point me to one good starting place? I have a lot to learn before checking Twitter.

Check out Nathan Gotch.

CyberCrusader said:
Check out Nathan Gotch.

Is that on YouTube?

Try Hubspot’s free SEO course. It’s a great starting point, and then you can move to more advanced stuff like the other suggestions in this thread.

Ahrefs, Backlinko, SEMrush—all those top blogs are a good place to get started. Look them up on YouTube as well.

At the core, SEO is all about good backlinks and solid on-page SEO. If you hire someone, they’ll handle all the details anyway. Just don’t waste money on bad backlinks!

I got started with Nathan Gotch’s beginner course on SEMrush’s YouTube channel. It’s fantastic. Once you’ve finished that, try out LearningSEO.io.