Why does WordPress core need to be updated all the time?

I’m still pretty new to WordPress. I started using it in 2018 for my small business website, mainly because of the huge variety of plugins and themes. I never really paid much attention to the whole ‘WordPress core’ thing unless it was a security update.

But now I’m seeing all these arguments between Matt and WP Engine about constantly pouring money into updating WordPress. Honestly, I picked WordPress because of what it was, not for what it could become. If it only got security updates and bug fixes, I’d be totally fine with that.

Am I alone in this? I don’t really update my website often, and it sits pretty much the same for years. Is all this money for core updates necessary for keeping it safe, or is it just about adding new features?

Edit: Thanks for the replies everyone! Your points really helped me see it differently!

WordPress is probably one of the biggest targets for hackers because it’s so popular. Tons of big organizations use it now, even the U.S. government. So yeah, keeping it secure is a huge job.

Not only that, but the code has its flaws too. I once hit a core bug where they forgot a crucial sanity check after doing a series of others.

Drupal isn’t perfect either, but the devs tend to be more experienced. Sites that moved from Drupal to WordPress, especially after the D7 to D8 change, might regret it down the line.

WordPress is popular, just like how most malware is aimed at Windows because it’s the big fish in the pond. Hackers don’t usually bother with platforms that have only a tiny market share.

Yeah, and the government doesn’t just use WordPress directly. They work with agencies that have their own way of handling it (like the White House website).

WordPress launched long before 2018. If the attitude back then was ‘it’s fine, let’s leave it,’ do you think you’d have all the features you’re using now?