How to start a blog that makes money?

Hey everyone,

There’s been a lot of discussion on this forum, and I’ve noticed a mix of hobby bloggers and folks wanting to turn their blogs into a real business that makes money.

If you’re blogging for fun, that’s awesome! But for those looking to treat it as a business and earn from it, there’s a lot more to consider if you want it to be profitable.

I’ve been blogging since 2018 and made over $150,000 in the last year, so I’ll be sharing my personal experience. I hope this helps answer some common questions.

Feel free to chime in with any advice or questions. I’m sure I didn’t cover everything!

##Step 1: Get started, choose a niche, and research

Before jumping in and creating your blog, do some research. However, don’t get stuck here forever! Some people keep learning and planning but never start. Spend one weekend learning and planning, and then move on.

SEO:

Learn some basic search engine optimization (SEO) strategies. This will help you when you start producing content. Check out resources like this forum for help with SEO questions.

Niche selection:

Pick a topic to blog about. Finding the right niche can be hard since there are endless things to write about, but focus on something that has low competition but is still popular. Use keyword research tools like Ahrefs or SERanking to find good opportunities.

Choose a niche that’s not a passing trend. For example, saunas are gaining popularity and have been around for years, but something like fidget spinners was a fad that died quickly. Look for something with staying power.

It helps if your niche is something you’re already familiar with. This gives you an edge when creating content, and it can make you more credible in Google’s eyes.

Don’t worry too much about how you’ll make money at first—just focus on driving traffic. If you get traffic, the money will come.

Check out forums like this one to get feedback and ideas.

Know your audience: